top of page

Fried Tuna Steaks - Super Fast & Yummy!


fried tuna steaks

Tuna are still packing fishermen's freezers here in Southern California. In the true spirit of Fisherman's Belly recipes, this new fried tuna steak recipe is a poster child for the ultimate easy fish recipe. How did I come up with this recipe? Let me explain...

Last week, I got a late afternoon text message from the wife. "Home soon, is dinner ready?" I needed something good and fast! I reached the in refrigerator, grabbed a couple of tuna fillets and went to town!

First I created a fast marinade, then poured it over the fillets and kicked up the fire on my cast iron skillet. While that was heating, I then created a salad with tomatoes, onions and cucumbers. Finally, I placed the fillets straight into the piping hot skillet for a minute or two on each side and bingo, I was done. My wife loved the dinner. Try this ultimate easy fish recipe, the tuna fried steaks with a tomato salad. Especially if you're in charge of making a last minute dinner!

Looking for another fast easy fish recipe? How about some

Tuna Fried Steaks (serves 2)

2-ea 1 1/2-in tuna fillets

2 lemons

Tablespoon of honey

4-6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Kosher Salt

Cracked black pepper

Bottle of your favorite chilled dry white wine

Tomato Salad

2 large summertime heirloom tomatoes cut into wedges

1 cucumber, peeled cut into half moons

1/2 onion sliced thinly

1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil

Kosher salt

Cracked black pepper

Couple of slices of sourdough bread toasted

tuna steak perfect

Start Making the Fried Tuna Steaks

1. First start creating the marinade. In a 2-cup pyrex cup, measure out the juice of one lemon, add the honey, pinch of salt and pepper. Visually check the total amount of liquid in the pyrex cup. Now whisk in double that amount of olive oil. Pour the marinade over the patted dry tuna fillets. And then refrigerate for 15 minutes.

2. Start heating the cast iron skillet, the hotter, the better! While the skillet is heating, quickly make the salad.

Make The Salad

3. Add the tomato wedges into a large salad bowl and salt them liberally. Toss the tomatoes to evenly salt them. This is the secret to this salad. The tomatoes will start to give off their juices because of the salt. Now add the cucumbers, onions and a healthy pinch of pepper. Refrigerate until needed. But just before serving, add a half cup of high quality extra virgin olive oil and mix. This is a heavenly salad, believe me.

Final Steps

4. Fry up the tuna steaks only a minute or two per side. Serve up the fried tuna steak, salad, and the toasted bread (to soak up the juices from the tomato salad). Plus, don't forget about cold dry white wine!

Comentários


Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 5.46.09 PM.png

Meet The

Fish

Cook...

I'm a fisherman and a cook, and I love to do both. My name is Yanni and welcome to my website, Fisherman's Belly. Here, using your fresh fish and everyday ingredients, you can learn to cook hand-crafted easy fish recipes. 

See you on the water and in the kitchen. Yanni

Stay Updated SUBSCRIBE

Sign up now for the latest updates and yummy recipes sent straight to your inbox.   

Have A Fish Cooking

Question?

Thanks for submitting your question. I'll get back with you as soon as possible. Yanni

fried fish sandwich.jpeg
bottom of page